The Silent Salesperson

In the classic book Think and Grow Rich, Mr. Hill wrote about a salesman who lost his job during the great depression.  With a poor economy, businesses going under left and right (almost sounds like 2013) this salesman did not have many prospects to find another job.  He did have a little bit of accounting back ground so he decided to go into business for himself doing book-keeping at a wholesale price (I wonder if this guy was a descendent of Sam Walton of Wal-Mart?).

Everyone has a millionaire within.

The concept was sound and it proved to make this unemployed salesman a very successful man during a very harsh time.  But when Mr. Hill first presented the idea to this young man he did like the concept except for one problem.  He did not know how to market his services.  Mr. Hill gave him the secret to solve that problem.  Mr. Hill called it the Silent Salesman and here is how it worked.

He wrote a story about the benefits of his service and put it into the format of a very attractive book which he had printed.  He then used that book as a lead generator, giving the book away rather than trying to sell it, which worked so well that this salesman soon had more accounts than he could handle.  This book idea for attracting new customers is what they called the Silent Salesman.

Today as back then, many people found themselves struggling with the harsh reality of a down economy.  Most people gave in and suffered the results of those times because they did not take aggressive action to use an innovative idea to out smart the bad economy.  I have been a lover of books since I was 12 years old (that is now 42 years of reading!) and using books that I co-authored as a lead generator has made me a financial fortune.  I have helped many others use this same method of co-authoring a book and then using it as a silent salesman to boost their cash flow, create massive amounts of new business, open doors of opportunity, flood their pipeline with new customers and take their business to the next level of success.

The story is told of Mr. Edison asking one of his young workers one day what he wanted most in life?  The young man replied that he wanted to be rich.  After some time had passed, Mr. Edison came back to the young man with a pair of glasses that he removed the lens from and inserted silver dollars.  He told the young man to put on the glasses and then asked him “what do you see?”  I cannot see anything piped the young man in which Mr. Edison said, “that is your problem; money is right in front of your eyes and you cannot even see it!”

When people talk to me about their lack of cash flow, customers and business volume I hold up a book and ask them what they see?  They will respond and say “a book”.  I tell them when I see a book I see a gold mine with unlimited riches waiting for me.  I see a gold mine filled with new customers, cash flow and business volume.  I see a dynamic team of salespeople all out there working 24-7 to letting people know who I am, what I offer and how to find me.  I like to call it my ideal customer finder!  Many people could have used that same concept of a book to create a successful business and out smart the depression and how many did use this system I have no way of knowing however, we do know this young unemployed salesman used this system and not only made a ton of money in the depression but landed up in the pages of the best-selling self book that has ever been sold.

I wonder if this young man had any idea that this concept of using a book to beat the depression would not only solve his money problems, but would have people talking about his story 80 years later?

It is no accident that almost every successful person on the market today used a book they wrote to launch their massive success and use books they write to continue that line of success.

In fact, Donald Trump got a TV show partly due to an earlier book he wrote.  Oprah went from talk show host to business tycoon after her first book and Robert Kiyosaki was virtually unknown until he wrote his first book which by the way was self published. 

Let me start of by telling you a true story: 

My mind races back to early 1970 when I was just a child and would love to watch the Walton’s on T.V.  Perhaps my favorite character was John-Boy because I could identify with him wanting to be a writer.  Since the age of 12 years old I knew that I wanted to be a writer.  When I read an ad in a comic book, How to Become a Writer- I rustled some money from my folks and sent for the home course.

I can still remember the day I got the package in the mail, my heart raced with excitement and my mind zoomed with adventure.  It was a brown soft bound book and when I started to read it, I remembered thinking; I don’t have a clue what this book is saying.  But it did not matter to me; just having that book gave me hope and inspiration!

I share that story with you because there are many reasons why people want to write a book; however this is what I have found out; Millions of people want to write a book.  Most have the ability, some have the drive but few have the know how. 

However, now in the 21 Century and the power of the internet, knowledge is more accessible now than at any other time in recorded history.  If you really want to expand your income try taking on a Silent Salesman.

For a free report on how to Make Money with A Book just send an email to don@donboyer.org and request it.

Right now, many of you are professionals and extremely competent in your field and industry and if you just positioned yourself as an “Expert” you will command and get higher fees.  If you want to learn how to become an “Expert” in your field and learn how to double and triple your income, then join our Free Exclusive Inner Circle Membership where I teach and coach you how to do this. http://www.donboyerauthor.com/membership.html

See you Friday!

Don and Melinda Boyer

Leave a Reply

